Online Hazard Map Workshops: 29 and 30th of September, 2020

The Commission for Hazard and Risk are hosting an online workshop on the 29/30th September 2020 to share and discuss a new web-hosted Volcanic Hazard Map Database with the wider volcano community. This database is searchable through an online interface (available here). Its purpose is to serve as a resource for hazard mappers to search and explore the range of existing volcanic hazard maps. It shows the diversity of existing volcanic hazard maps, classifies those maps so they can be searched and sorted, and contains detailed metadata about the map design. It includes examples from volcanoes around the world, some of which have changed through time, have been presented in a variety of formats (e.g., posters, park signs, interactive web-maps, inserts in hazard assessments), and are authored by both official (e.g., observatories or local governments) and unofficial sources (e.g., journal articles).
                                 
This two hour workshop will be broken down into three parts:

1. an introduction to the hazard mapping working group, the sourcebook and the database;

2. a demonstration of the database’s functionality and webpage structure and 3. time for questions and feedback.

We welcome anyone who has an interest in volcanic hazard mapping to share ideas and provide feedback on any of the initiatives presented. Please join us by registering for one of the sessions below. The same workshop will be held twice to accommodate time zones and both will be in English. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email a few hours later containing information about joining the meeting, including a passcode.
                                            



Workshop 1: Americas, Europe and Africa
When: Sept 29, 2020 08:00 PDT / 11: 00 EDT / 12:00 ART/ 17:00 CEST / 15:00 UTC
Register in advance for this meeting: http://bit.ly/HMDBWS1



Workshop 2: Asia and the Pacific
When: Sep 30, 2020 14:00 NZDT / 10:00 JST/ 09:00 SGT / 15:00 HST (29th) / 01:00 UTC
Register in advance for this meeting: http://bit.ly/HMDBWS2
                                           


If you have any questions or have problems signing up, please email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Print   Email