September 2020 - Newsletter

<!doctype html>

IAVCEI Commission on Volcanic Hazards and Risk: September 2020 Newsletter

Commission on Volcanic Hazards and Risk
September 2020 Newsletter!
Visit us at our website for more information about the goals of the Commission, how to collaborate, and for resources related to volcanic hazards and risks!
 
 
Online Hazard Map Workshops
29 and 30th of September, 2020

The Commission for Hazard and Risk are hosting an online workshop on the 29/30th September 2020 to share and discuss a new web-hosted Volcanic Hazard Map Database with the wider volcano community. This database is searchable through an online interface. Its purpose is to serve as a resource for hazard mappers to search and explore the range of existing volcanic hazard maps. It shows the diversity of existing volcanic hazard maps, classifies those maps so they can be searched and sorted, and contains detailed metadata about the map design. It includes examples from volcanoes around the world, some of which have changed through time, have been presented in a variety of formats (e.g., posters, park signs, interactive web-maps, inserts in hazard assessments), and are authored by both official (e.g., observatories or local governments) and unofficial sources (e.g., journal articles).

This two hour workshop will be broken down into three parts:
1. an introduction to the hazard mapping working group, the sourcebook and the database;
2. a demonstration of the database’s functionality and webpage structure and 3. time for questions and feedback.

We welcome anyone who has an interest in volcanic hazard mapping to share ideas and provide feedback on any of the initiatives presented. Please join us by registering for one of the sessions below. The same workshop will be held twice to accommodate time zones and both will be in English. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email a few hours later containing information about joining the meeting, including a passcode.


Workshop 1: Americas, Europe and Africa
When: Sept 29, 2020 08:00 PDT / 11: 00 EDT / 12:00 ART/ 17:00 CEST / 15:00 UTC
Register in advance for this meeting: http://bit.ly/HMDBWS1


Workshop 2: Asia and the Pacific
When: Sep 30, 2020 14:00 NZDT / 10:00 JST/ 09:00 SGT / 15:00 HST (29th) / 01:00 UTC
Register in advance for this meeting: http://bit.ly/HMDBWS2


If you have any questions or have problems signing up, please email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 
 
Figure from Clarke et al., 2020 (Front. in E.S.)
New Special Topics volume published in Frontiers in Earth Science on Field Data, Models and Uncertainty in Hazard Assessment of Pyroclastic Density Currents and Lahars: Global Perspectives

A 10 article volume has been published in Frontiers in Earth Science on PDC and Lahar hazards. Topics include hazard assessment of dome collapse, uncertainty quantification, lahar modelling, PDC stratigraphy, numerical modelling of PDCs, and multi-method approaches to better understand PDCs. Click here to access.


If you would like us to feature a special paper or volume relevent to the goals of the commission in an upcoming newsletter, please reach out to us here.

 
 

Photo credit: Heather Wright (USGS).

Photo credit: Heather Wright (USGS).

Photo credit: Coordinación Nacional de Protección Civil.

2019: Summary from the Volcano Observatories Best Practices Workshop (VOBP4)

Volcano Observatories Best Practices Workshop (VOBP4), Mexico City – From 18 to 23 November 2019, about 90 participants from 26 countries attended this fourth in a series of meetings, first started in 2011. In contrast to the previous VOBP meetings, which focused on eruption forecasting, hazard communication, and long-term hazard assessment (a summary of those meetings is available here), VOBP4 focused on Volcano Observatory Crisis Operations. The meeting involved four intensive days of presentations, moderated panels, and discussions on this topic among the leaders of the world’s volcano observatories.


The VOBP4 meeting was conducted under the aegis of IAVCEI and EUROVOLC and was hosted by CENAPRED, who also provided abundant logistical support. Travel funds and additional financial and logistical support was provided by the USGS+USAID Volcano Disaster Assistance Program (VDAP) and Italy's Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV), as well as numerous volcano observatories around the world who supported participation in the meeting by their staff. VOBP5 will be held in Pucón, Chile and will be hosted by SERNAGEOMIN (date to be decided).


For the full summary of meeting notes, please visit the our website here.

 
 
Upcoming Meetings
1-17 December, 2020
AGU Fall Meeting
San Francisco, California, USA
 
11-15 May, 2021
Chapman Conference on Distributed Volcanism and Distributed Volcanic Hazards
Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
 
14-18 June, 2021
Cities on Volcanoes 11
Heraklion, Greece
 
20-24 January, 2022
IAVCEI Scientific Assembly
Rotorua, New Zealand
 
 
You are receiving this email because
1.) You're an awesome supporter of the Commission
2.) You subscribed via our website


Want to be removed? No problem, email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we won't bug you again.
Twitter Facebook

 


Print   Email